Alumni association hosts 2019 awards gala

John Parsons, Staff Reporter

The alumni association hosted the 2019 alumni awards gala April 27 in the Rayburn Student Center. Two members, Jarred Davis and Jency Holbert, were recognized as Gold Blazer Recipients while three members; J. Russell Armstrong, Dr. Bobby Burns and Marcus Hill, were recognized as Distinguished Alumni.

“The Gold Blazer Award was first established in 1984 and is presented annually to alumni for service to the Alumni Association of Texas A&M University-Commerce and the university,” according to the program.

The purpose of the Distinguished Alumni Chapter “is to maintain a means for serving Texas A&M University-Commerce, to further the interest and well-being of the university, and to foster an appreciation for the rich heritage left to the university by its students, its faculty and its administration during it 130-year history,” according to the program.